Around Olympia Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


LOTT's WET Science Center


address  500 Adams St. Northeast
 Olympia, WA  98501
phone (360) 664-2333
www.lottcleanwater.org

Upcoming Events

Precious Pollinators

For the Family, Children, Community Event, Nature, Children's Arts/Crafts
Celebrate National Pollinator Week with us. Pollinators such as bats, bees, ladybugs, birds, butterflies, and more are needed for the reproduction of over 90% of flowering plants and one third of human food crops. Learn what you can do to protect pollinators while making a variety of crafts.
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Ages: All Ages
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/events/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 6/23/18 at 10am-4pm 

Washington’s Wilderness Coast

For the Family, Children, Community Event, Nature
Immerse yourself in the stunning landscapes and rich biodiversity of Olympic National Park’s rugged coastline. Learn about the ecology and natural history of this wild place in a 2 pm presentation. Beach-themed arts and crafts all day.
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Ages: All Ages
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/events/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 6/30/18 at 10am-4pm 

Summer Boredom Busters!

Class/Workshop, Green/Environmental
July & August (Closed on July 4): Mondays: Explore & Play - Explore the WET Science Center and earn a prize for completing a scavenger hunt! The indoor scavenger hunt guides you through many of our interactive games and exhibits, or go outside and try out our wetland or plaza scavenger hunts. Tuesdays & Wednesdays: Make & Create - Whether you’re an experienced artist or a beginner, you’ve come to the right place! Create art projects inspired by our local environment. From paint to pipe cleaners, we have all the materials you need to make your own masterpiece. Thursdays: Discover & Investigate - Join Stream Team and Pacific Shellfish Institute biologists on the first, second, and third Thursdays of the month to see “What’s Blooming in Budd”. You’ll get up close and personal with some of the smallest organisms in the sea – phytoplankton. Help collect plankton samples from the Port Plaza dock from 1-1:45 pm, then travel to the WET Science Center to view plankton under a projecting microscope from 2-3 pm. Participants can assist in recording species diversity and counting harmful algal species as part of NOAA and Sea Grant’s Sound Toxins program. No experience needed! Fridays: Tinker & Build - Build, invent, problem solve, and think with your hands. A variety of design challenges and activities for all ages inspire the next generation of inventors, engineers, and tinkerers. Our supportive environment encourages out-of-the-box creations and self-directed free play.
Summer;WET Science Center;LOTT
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Mon 7/2/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Tue 7/3/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Wed 7/4/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Thu 7/5/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Fri 7/6/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Mon 7/9/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Tue 7/10/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Wed 7/11/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Thu 7/12/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Fri 7/13/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Mon 7/16/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Tue 7/17/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Wed 7/18/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Thu 7/19/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Fri 7/20/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Mon 7/23/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Tue 7/24/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Wed 7/25/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Thu 7/26/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Fri 7/27/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Mon 7/30/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Tue 7/31/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Wed 8/1/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Thu 8/2/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Fri 8/3/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Mon 8/6/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Tue 8/7/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Wed 8/8/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Thu 8/9/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Fri 8/10/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Mon 8/13/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Tue 8/14/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Wed 8/15/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Thu 8/16/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Fri 8/17/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Mon 8/20/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Tue 8/21/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Wed 8/22/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Thu 8/23/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Fri 8/24/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Mon 8/27/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Tue 8/28/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Wed 8/29/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Thu 8/30/18 at 10am-4pm 
 • Fri 8/31/18 at 10am-4pm 

Stream Bug Spectacular

Community Event, Nature
Join Stream Team to discover the types of bugs living in local streams. A brief presentation at 2 pm introduces facts about their habitat and role in a healthy ecosystem. Then use your best identification skills to explore live stream bugs from McLane Creek. Hands-on bug lab in the classroom all day!
Stream bugs;WET Science Center;LOTT
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 7/7/18 at 2pm-3pm 

Puget Sound Art & Treatment Plant Tour

Community Event, Tour, Green/Environmental
Stop by anytime to make art inspired by Puget Sound and its creatures. At 1 pm, attend a program about water in our lives and what happens to the dirty water you send down the drain. Discover how LOTT cleans up wastewater at the Budd Inlet Treatment Plant and the steps taken to protect Puget Sound. Then take a tour of the treatment plant! Tour participants must be 10 or older and wear closed-toe, closed-heel shoes.
Art;Tour;WET Science Center;LOTT
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Ages: 10 and over
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 7/14/18 at 1pm-2pm 

Eyes Under Puget Sound

Community Event, Nature, History/Science
Ever wonder what types of creepy crawlies lurk in the mud beneath the waters of Puget Sound? Join marine scientists from the Washington State Department of Ecology for a 2 pm presentation to identify theses fascinating marine invertebrates. Use a microscope and get up close and personal with worms, sea stars, clams, crabs, and more! Related activities all day.
Puget Sound;Ecology;WET Science Center;LOTT
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 7/21/18 at 2pm-3pm 

Plants, People, and Place

Community Event, Nature
Join staff from the Nisqually Reach Nature Center for a brief interactive presentation at 2 pm on plant culture of the Pacific Northwest. Come investigate our relationship with native species through wild-crafting, an outdoor plant walk, and exploration through movement! A native plant weaving workshop is available throughout the day.
Plants;People;and Places;Nisqually Reach Nature Center;WET Science Center;Lott
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 7/28/18 at 2pm-3pm 

Get Out of My Hair: Toxins in Personal Care

Community Event, Health & Wellness/Nutrition
Come find out about the chemicals in personal care products like lotion, deodorant, shampoo, and hair dye. Join Thurston County Environmental Health to learn more about the health and environmental concerns from these everyday products, how to read labels, helpful websites, and safer alternatives. You’ll get to make an all-natural lip balm to take home! Presentation starts at 2 pm and is best for ages 11 and up. Related activities all day.
Personal Care;WET Science Center;LOTT
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 8/4/18 at 2pm-3pm 

South Sound BioBlitz: Become a Citizen Scientist!

Community Event, Nature, Green/Environmental, History/Science
A BioBlitz is an opportunity for community members to partner with experts to identify and count as many species as possible in a specific area, while learning how to conserve and protect these animals. This BioBlitz focuses on invertebrates (like sea stars, shellfish, worms, etc.) living in various habitats. Visit pacshell.org to sign up for a 10 am - 12 pm beach survey to help biologists sort, identify, and take pictures (be prepared to get muddy). And/or visit the WET Center to see live animals, look under the microscope, and work with taxonomists to ID organisms.
BioBlitz;Citizen Science;WET Science Center;LOTT
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 8/11/18 at 10am-4pm 

Recycled Papermaking

Community Event, Children's Arts/Crafts, Green/Environmental
This hands-on activity is a great way for kids to learn how recycled-content paper is made. From 1-4 pm, Thurston County’s recycling specialists will guide participants in mimicking the process of industrial recycled papermaking while learning about the natural resources used. Each participant will make their own recycled paper to take home to color and decorate. Recycled crafts all day.
Papermaking;WET Science Center;LOTT
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 8/25/18 at 1pm-4pm 

Gifts for Grandma & Grandpa

Community Event, Children's Arts/Crafts
Treat grandparents to a personalized card or piece of art for Grandparents Day on Sunday, September 9. Handmade gifts are perfect for all grandparents!
Grandparents;Crafts;WET Science Center;LOTT
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 9/8/18 at 10am-4pm 

Sloths!

Community Event, Nature
No creature in the animal kingdom is as chill as a sloth. Do they really sleep 18 hours a day? How slow are they? Can they swim? Join us for a 2 pm presentation to find out! Or just come hang out like a sloth, and enjoy related arts and crafts all day.
Sloths;WET Science Center;LOTT
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 9/15/18 at 2pm-3pm 

Down the Drain and Then What?

Community Event, History/Science, Green/Environmental
What happens to the water you send down the drain? Celebrate Septic Smart Week by learning about wastewater treatment and the importance of clean water. Join us for a 1pm presentation followed by a tour of the Budd Inlet Treatment Plant! Tour participants must be 10 or older and wear closed-toe, closed-heel shoes. Water-related arts & crafts all day.
Water;WET Science Center;LOTT
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 9/22/18 at 1pm-2pm 

Salmon Saturday

Community Event, Nature
It’s a special time of year. Local salmon are finishing up their long, tiring journey and returning to their home streams to spawn. Come honor this amazing fish by creating salmon-inspired artwork to take home. Create fish prints, make a salmon button or hat, and more!
Salmon;WET Science Center;LOTT
Event Info: (360) 664-2333
Event Website: http://www.wetsciencecenter.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 9/29/18 at 10am-4pm